Fix for Zune 30GB Problems

Thu, Jan 1, 2009

MP3 Player

A crashed Zune.

A crashed Zune.

Microsoft has released its “fix” for the 30GB Zune problems.  I use the term “fix” loosely.

My Zune 30 is frozen. What should I do? (from Microsoft)

Follow these steps:

  1. Disconnect your Zune from USB and AC power sources.
  2. Because the player is frozen, its battery will drain—this is good. Wait until the battery is empty and the screen goes black. If the battery was fully charged, this might take a couple of hours.
  3. Wait until after noon GMT on January 1, 2009 (that’s 7 a.m. Eastern or 4 a.m. Pacific time).
  4. Connect your Zune to either a USB port on the back or your computer or to AC power using the Zune AC Adapter and let it charge.

    Once the battery has sufficient power, the player should start normally. No other action is required—you can go back to using your Zune!

    So yeah let the battery run out until the thing finally dies.  Then, wait until the magic time window before you turn it on.  If you do turn it on and hook it up to a computer before the designated time, you’ll have to start all over again.

    Sounds like a really strange bug.  Can’t wait to find out more about it.

    This post was written by:

    - who has written 15 posts on iCast.me.

    Travis Lusk is the Editor-in-Chief of iCast.me. Additionally, Travis is the President of iCast Limited / iCast LLC, offering a wide variety of website design services. Follow on Twitter

    Contact the author

    Leave a Reply

    ss_blog_claim=2dc4941c1da66d7e658d791b088180e3 ss_blog_claim=2dc4941c1da66d7e658d791b088180e3